The Pearlfishers – Up with the Lark

It was a gift for my friend. Not until recently that I realized that its’ actually a gift for myself, after 2 years.

2 years ago, I was lingering around in the Newbury Comics trying to get some inspiration from the album covers. I do judge one by its cover, and I judge hard. Many CDs only have one copy on the shelf because they are either too old or just not as popular. For some of which, I was so afraid that somebody will take them and I won’t see them anymore.

I decided to find four albums, or four “covers”, for my four besties in Taiwan. It was my freshman fall and I didn’t go back for winter break but hanging out with my sister in Allston. I missed high school so painfully, especially the four girls that almost changed my life. After an hour and a half in the store I had about ten albums in my hand, but I only needed to buy four of them. I started to think what kind of people my besties were and tried to find the covers that best tells my impression of each of them.

I thought this cover is joyful and nice.

I bought it without even listening to it or knowing who the Pearlfishers are, as well as the other three albums.

I opened the cover and put the music in my iTune before I sent it to Taiwan. The music was light and many of them are unplugged. I wasn’t paying attention in listening to the lyrics/or I just couldn’t recognize them at the time. Yeah, fine. I thought.

Recently I started this album again, and by listening it over and over again the lyrics emerged and caught the very bottom of my memories. I fell in love with the lyrics and the way it was said/sung. I am the kind of person who plays a song over and OVER AND OVER again. It’s like an addiction. If you really want yourself to be sunken into the mood, music is what I have found the most efficient way to do it.

“If we could bottle each drop of this feathered rain, package it up, and sell it on to the farmers of england, to grow neon roses on sailsbury plain.”
“I was lost, I’d reached the limit; couldn’t find one happy day. If trouble came, brother, I’d be in it. I couldn’t see a colour for grey.”

the umbrellas of shibuya
saturday early, it’s 8:43
a train pulls away from this human sea
florists and choclatiers lining our way
oh please buy my wares for valentine’s day
japanese skies
full of the cut and the jib punctuation
filling my cup
I was asleep but I’m waking up
up from the bridge we see over a town
the umbrellas of shibuya spinning around
the banker, the lawyer, the young tokyo crew
safe under a sky of polythene blue
duglas, just think!
if we could bottle each drop of this feathered rain
package it up
and sell it on to the farmers of england
to grow neon roses on salisbury plain
I was lost, I’d reached the limit
couldn’t find one happy day
if trouble came, brother, I’d be in it
I couldn’t see a colour for grey
then love lit me up
I was strong, I was gone, I belonged
what am I to do, where am I to go if I ever lose it?
puddles of paint
bleeding out over the hills of shibuya
filling my cup
I was asleep but I’m waking up

(http://www.pearlfishers.co.uk/site/larkslyrics.htm)

Leave a Reply

